Why is saffron so expensive?

It is so expensive because it is an extremely labor-intensive crop.The buds developed to complete flowers in the fall. Each flower has three threadlike thing in the center. ... more than 80,000 crocus flowers must be grown, cared for, hand-harvested and processed to make one pound of saffron.