Can poinsettias be left outside?

Poinsettias originate in Mexico and thrive in heat. They cannot live outside where the temperatures drop below 45 degrees and they can not tolerate frost. If you can protect your poinsettias from cold temperatures, they can survive in containers or plant beds outside.