What is a hold over reticle?

What is a hold over reticle? Holdover refers to positioning the crosshairs of your reticle a little higher than the location of your target to balance out the impact of gravity. You’ll need to calculate the amount of holdover you’ll need, depending on the distance (and wind speed).