How often does the tide come in?

Because the Earth rotates through two tidal “bulges” every lunar day, coastal areas experience two high and two low tides every 24 hours and 50 minutes. High tides occur 12 hours and 25 minutes apart, and it takes 6 hours and 12 minutes for the water to go from high to low, or from low to high.