How can cats purr?

How can cats purr? Purring involves rapid movement of the muscles of the larynx, combined with movement of the diaphragm (the muscle at the base of the chest cavity). The muscles move at around 20 to 30 times per second. As the cat breathes, air touches the vibrating muscles, producing a purr