What is the purpose of a gnat?

Gnats are small flies of the suborder Nematocera, which also includes midges, craneflies and mosquitoes. Whether we like them or not, gnats serve a purpose in nature. They are an important food source for birds, bats and larger insects. They also pollinate flowers.