Where did the term lunch come from?

Lunch dates from 1786, and is a shortened form of luncheon in this sense, which is of uncertain origin; it appears to be identical with an older word meaning "thick piece, hunk", which perhaps evolved from lump. There was a nuncheon "light mid-day meal," from noon & Middle English schench "drink."