What is the coldest state in the country?

The coldest state in the United States is Alaska, with an annual average temperature of 26.6 degrees Fahrenheit. The coldest state in the contiguous 48 states of the United States is North Dakota, with an annual average temperature of 40.4 degrees Fahrenheit.