What was the largest volcanic explosion in history?

Geologists think that the Aegean Islands volcano Thera exploded with the energy of several hundred atomic bombs in a fraction of a second. Other VE-7 explosions are the Changbaishan Volcano in 1000 AD and Mt. Tambora, Sumbawa Island Indonesia in 1815. Krakatoa in 1883 was only a VE-6.