Can you substitute evaporated milk for whole milk?

A 1:1 ratio of evaporated milk and water can be substituted for whole milk. If the recipe calls for 1 cup of whole milk, substitute 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup evaporated milk. Evaporated milk can also be substituted directly for light cream in most recipes.

---

It depends on what you're making. Sometimes you can use the evaporated milk in a recipe by diluting it with an equal part of water, and sometimes you don't have to. Evap is thicker than regular whole milk. It's good in things like mashed potatoes or pancakes!