What's the difference between a butcher and a meat cutter?

The duties of a meat cutter largely overlap those of the butcher, but butchers tend to specialize in pre-sale processing (reducing carcasses to primal cuts), whereas meat cutters further cut and process the primal cuts per individual customer request.