How fast is the fastest forty yard dash ever?

While it was a hand-timed 40 yard dash, Bo Jackson’s 4.13 time is the fastest verified NFL workout run ever. Jackson played just four years in the NFL before injury ended his career, but he averaged more than five yards per carry.