What is the krebs cycle?

The citric acid cycle, also known as the Krebs cycle, is a series of chemical reactions used by all aerobic organisms to release stored energy through the oxidation of acetyl coenzyme A, derived from carbohydrates, fats, and proteins, into adenosine triphosphate, and carbon dioxide.

---

The Krebs Cycle, named for Hans Adolf Krebs, who with William Arthur Johnson, identified it in 1937 at the University of Sheffield. Krebs was awarded the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 1953. It is also known as the citric acid cycle (CAC) or TCA cycle (tricarboxylic acid cycle).