How do you direct a hot air balloon?

The wind is what drives a hot air balloon in any direction. The only way to control the direction to is pick which direction the wind is blowing. There are oftentimes winds moving different directions at different altitudes so the pilot can move the balloon up or down to get a favorable wind.