What is a wheel and axle?

What is a wheel and axle? The wheel and axle is a type of simple machine used to make tasks easier in terms of manipulating force by applying the concept of mechanical advantage. The wheel and axle consists of a round disk, known as a wheel, with a rod through the centre of it, known as the axle