How does magic shell work?

The secret ingredient in Magic shell is coconut oil. It's simply a combination of chocolate and coconut oil (fat) that hardens into a solid, shiny shell when poured over cold ice cream. It soon becomes dull in appearance, but the effect is incredibly satisfying.