What year did the soviet union develop an atomic bomb?

On August 29, 1949, the Soviet Union secretly conducted its first successful weapon test at the Semipalatinsk -21 in Kazakhstan. Stalin alongside Soviet political officials and scientists were thrilled at the successful test.