What is a sycamore tree?

Sycamores are large trees with thick trunks, and range in height from 60 to 100 feet, depending on the species. All have golf-ball-sized seed clusters covered completely with small, fuzzy spikes. And once established, sycamores have distinctive patchy bark in cream, light green and brown.