What does clutch mean?

The word "clutch," spelled C-L-U-T-C-H, can refer to the act of grasping something, or to an automobile mechanism that disengages the transmission. In North America, it also refers to a small handbag, or to a critical situation where the outcome of a game or other endeavor is at stake.