When did black men get the right to vote?

The Fifteenth Amendment to the U-S Constitution, which prohibits the federal government and each state from denying a citizen the right to vote based on that citizen's "race, color, or previous condition of servitude" and effectively gave black men the right to vote, was ratified on February 3, 1870

---

The Fifteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution guaranteed the right to vote for all non-white men and freed slaves in 1870. Shortly thereafter, a number of states passed laws that aimed to disenfranchise non-white men.