When did the microwave oven come out?

The first microwaves were developed by Raytheon for commercial use in the 1940s. A slightly-less-bulky, cheaper version was developed in 1955 for the home, but it was still too big and expensive for mass use. In 1967, something closer to today's countertop model was developed and put on the market.