Did george washington grow marijuana?

Cannabis grown for recreational or medicinal purposes can contain 6% to 20% THC. There is no truth to the statement that George Washington grew marijuana. His hemp crop was strictly the industrial strain needed for the production of rope, thread, canvas, and other industrial applications.