How long does it take for a body to d. k.?

For a human buried in the ground, it will take 8 to 12 years to decay to a skeleton. In a coffin, that may take as much as 2 or 3 times as long depending on the coffin material. In water or out in the open on land, decay will be much faster, taking as little as a month due to animal action.