Who is the highest paid athlete of all time?

According to Forbes the highest paid athlete of all time is Micheal Jordan. However, historians believe that Gaius Appuleius Diocles a chariot racer of Ancient Rome was the highest paid athlete of all time earning a modern equivalent of $15 billion.