How fast is a meteor go?

A meteor is accelerated by the gravitational forces in the solar system, gaining an amount of speed equal to the escape velocity of either the Earth or the Sun depending on its origin. A meteor impacting the Earth's atmosphere will, therefore, have a speed between 10 and 700 km per second.