What's the definition of inhibit?

Inhibit (verb) means to hinder, restrain, or prevent an action or process. E.g. keeping plants in a dark room, inhibits their growth. Also, to discourage someone from relaxed, free, or spontaneous activity, by making them self-conscious, by using inner psychological, or external social constraints.