Who is pier marquette?

Jacques Marquette, byname Père (Father) Marquette, (born June 1, 1637, Laon, Fr. —died May 18, 1675, Ludington, Mich.), French Jesuit missionary explorer who, with Louis Jolliet, traveled down the Mississippi River and reported the first accurate data on its course.