What is the taste of brown sugar?

Brown sugar has a deep, caramel or toffee-like flavor due to the added molasses. For this reason, it works well in chocolate cakes and cookies, as well as rich fruit cakes. On the other hand, white sugar is sweeter, so you can use less of it to attain your desired taste.