What can i use instead of milk for mac and cheese?

One can substitute water and increased butter for milk in mac and cheese but it will make it runny. Other substitutes for milk include small amounts of cream cheese, unflavored yogurt, or sour cream, but these will change the flavor a bit.

---

When you're making Kraft macaroni and cheese out of the box, you'll notice that the recipe requires you to add both milk and butter. But if you're out of milk, you can skip that step and simply double up on the amount of butter (and a bit of water) to make up for the difference.