What was going on in nineteen seventy?

Apollo 13 returns to Earth; Charles Manson on trial for Sharon Tate murders; After 11 years of construction, the Aswan High Dam in Egypt is completed; Terrorists from FLQ kidnap Quebec Vice-Premier Pierre Laporte; U S Environmental Protection Agency begins; Soviet spacecraft Venera 7 lands on Venus.