Why is it called a cocktail?

One probable theory: It was customary to dock the tails of horses that were not thoroughbred. They were later called simply cocktails. The word cocktail was applied to a person raised above his station, a gentleman deficient in breeding. By extension a cocktail was an alcoholic drink, but diluted.