What was the first jeopardy question?

Episode 1 of Season 1 aired on Monday, September 10, 1984. This was the premiere episode with Alex Trebek as host. The very first clue-question was: Category: Animals for $100; Answer: These rodents first got to America by stowing away on ships. Question: What are rats.