What does a. f. t. e. r. n. o. n. spell?

A-F-T-E-R-N-O-O-N spells "afternoon," which refers to the period of time from midday until evening. (The boundary between afternoon and evening is typically sunset, though in some contexts it's a fixed time such a 5pm or 6pm.)