Who invented the shishkabob?

The story goes that shish kebab was born over the open field fires of the soldiers of the Turkic tribes that first invaded Anatolia, who used their swords to grill meat. In reality, the genesis might be earlier. There is iconographical evidence of Byzantine Greeks cooking shish kebabs.