What is the difference between chai seeds and poppy seeds?

Chia seeds and poppy seeds are two different species and have different properties in cooking. Both can be added to baked goods where they add a satisfying crunch. Chia seeds will become gelatinous when mixed into liquid and can be used as a thickener or emulsifier in puddings and in some sauces.