What is the book the false prince about?

"The False Prince" is a young adult novel by Jennifer Nielsen which revolves around a plot to put forth an impostor to the throne to save the kingdom of Carthya. Sage is a fourteen year-old orphan who steals a roast from a local butcher, but is saved from his wrath by a nobleman named Bevin Conner.

---

In a discontented kingdom, civil unrest is brewing. To unify the divided people, a nobleman of the court devises a plan to find an impersonator of the king's long-lost son and install him as a puppet prince. Four orphans are recruited to compete for the role, including a defiant boy named Sage.