How do you grow carrots in minecraft?

Carrots can be planted by placing the carrot itself in a Farmland block as they don't have seeds. When planted a carrot grows much like Wheat. However it has only four stages of growth instead of 8. A carrot can be instantly converted into a fullygrown plant by using Bonemeal much like other crops