What is aspagarus?

Asparagus, or garden asparagus, folk name sparrow grass, scientific name Asparagus officinalis, is a perennial flowering plant species in the genus Asparagus. Its shoots are used as a spring vegetable. It was once classified in the lily family, like the related Allium species, onions and garlic