What are navajo pearls?

The beautiful style of jewelry called Desert or Navajo Pearls are sterling silver beads traditionally made by Navajo (Diné) silversmiths. These handmade beads are commonly seen on Squash Blossom necklaces, but are also worn alone on single or multi-strand necklaces and in bracelets.