What's a catalytic converter made out of?

The catalytic converter itself is made from a heat resistant material like ceramic, with a large internal honeycomb structure covered in a thin coating of tiny particles of metal. Platinum, palladium and rhodium are the metals commonly used within catalytic converters to help break down pollutants.