Why is joe exotic incarcerated?

Joseph Maldonado-Passage was sentenced to 22 years for the murder-for-hire plot and several wildlife violations. He shot and killed five tigers, sold baby lemurs and falsified paperwork to say they were donated, and tried to pay a hit man $3,000 to kill a rival.