What is the movie fried green tomatoes?

The 1991 film was based on a novel by Fannie Flagg, Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe. Set in Alabama in the present and the 1920s, the film has both comic and dramatic elements and was nominated for two academy awards.