What's the difference between g. p. s. and g. i. s.?

A GPS is a Global Positioning System and refers to the technology that connects to satellites for location. A GIS is geographic information systems, it includes software, workflows, data, and analysis that look at spatial location but also finds trends, patterns, routes, and organizes spatial data.