Are wario and waluigi brothers?

According to the Super Mario Wiki, Waluigi and Wario's relationship has jumped between "brothers" to "just friends" and everything in between. ... However, some other games such as Mario and Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games have stated that Waluigi and Wario are only cousins.