Are cherry tomatoes and grape tomatoes the same thing?

No, they are different. Grape tomatoes are oblong and shaped like grapes. They're about half the size of cherry tomatoes, with thicker skins. Grape tomatoes aren't as sweet as cherry tomatoes, and their flesh is meatier and less watery.