How much water does a body need?

According to the Mayo Clinic, the average healthy man living in a temperate climate needs about 15.5 cups and about 11.5 cups for women. That is 3.7 and 2.7 liters respectively. There are many other factors such as weight, climate, exercise and more that can can modify these figures.