Do squirrels build nests?

Tree squirrels build two general types of nests: tree cavity dens and leaf nests. Whether located in abandoned woodpecker holes or in natural cavities, tree dens offer better protection from wind, rain and snow. ... Ground holes may be used as emergency shelters by tree squirrels