What is p. v. equals n. r. t.?

That is the equation describing the properties of an ideal gas. P is pressure, V is volume, N is the quantity of gas, R is the ideal gas constant and T is temperature. It essentially states that a confined gas will expand when heated and compressing a gas will raise it's temperature and vice-versa.