What is the meaning of the word rap?

To rap means to strike (a hard surface) with a series of rapid blows, especially to get attention. As a slang term, it can mean to chat in an easy, familiar way. A rap is a quick, sharp blow. Rap can also be a type of music in which words are recited quickly & rhythmically over a prerecorded backing