How long will dry ice last in a freezer?

Dry ice should not be stored in your residential freezer. Dry ice is at a much colder temperature than your freezer can chill. As the dry ice melts, it turns into carbon dioxide and if there's no way to get out can build up inside your freezer. Always store dry ice in a cooler until ready to use.